The Happy Videos Tag

In times like these, it’s easy to become overwhelmed and discouraged. There may not be one ultimate fix-all when it comes to negativity, but I personally find that returning to a certain set of online videos helps to make me smile and laugh when I need it most. Since I’ve been acutely aware of this personal catalog as of late, I thought that I’d create a tag around it in the hopes that others will be encouraged to find their own caches of “happy videos”, ones that never fail to bring that much-needed emotional boost to otherwise dreary days. So, without further ado, here it is: the happy videos tag!

Instructions of the tag:

  1. Create a playlist of videos that make you happy
  2. Profile ten of those videos in a blog post
  3. Embed your complete happy videos playlist at the end of your blog post (it doesn’t have to be only ten videos long)
  4. Tag someone else to make their own!

To get things started, here’s my list of ten!

To Life: Vanessa’s Wedding Surprise

This video combines two of my favorite things: weddings and production numbers. Leave it to Lin-Manuel Miranda and his family to create the best of both!

Sesame Street Meets the Movies

This video combines two more of my favorite things: famous film quotes and muppets. Really, anything starring the residents of Sesame Street is bound to make me grin, but this particular clip features Grover channeling his inner George M. Cohan, so I couldn’t not include it here. “My mother thanks you! My father thanks you! My sister thanks you! And I thank you!”

The Kitty Cat Dance

This one is so bewildering that I can’t help but giggle every time. It’s pretty simple, but sometimes the best things are. Plus: a dancing cat!

T-Rex Dances to “A Chorus Line”

 Nothing else more perfectly captures my sense of humor.

Google Translate Sings Mulan

…except maybe this.

Adam Scott and Mark Hamill

This one is less of a funny-happy and more of a sweet-happy. Both as a Star Wars fan and as a human being, it never fails to warm my heart.

Superfruit’s Photobooth Challenge

This video is just pure silliness; two people make faces at a camera for a solid six minutes. And it’s awesome.

dodie’s Lollipop Cover

I love Dodie Clark and her music, especially this sweet (ayy) cover of MIKA’s “Lollipop”. It’s bouncy, it’s fun, and it’s really well-edited: a win-win-win!

Step in Time!

The title says it all. Even at 90 years old, Dick Van Dyke can still high-step with the best of ’em. Legend.

The Happiest Surprise on Earth

I’ve been watching Cassidy’s videos for a long time now, and I vividly remember watching this for the first time. Pretty much the peak of sweet-happy, and a great way to bookend this shortlist.

My Full “Happy Videos” Playlist:

I Tag:

Now that my playlist is all made, I’m most excited that all of my “happy videos” are in one place and that I can add to the list whenever necessary. That’s really the goal of this tag in a nutshell: to encourage people to create a personalized and sustainable pick-me-up that they can return to at any time.

So, what makes you smile? What makes you laugh? What videos do you obsessively up the view count for? I hope you have as much fun answering those questions as I did! Make sure to tag your posts with #happyvideostag; I look forward to checking out your lists!

2 thoughts on “The Happy Videos Tag”

Leave a Reply

